Just a Different Perspective

I recently deactivated my Facebook. It’s not the first time and may not be the last. I initially did this due to various reasons. Mostly recently I deactivated it because I have no friends on there that are talking about anything I’m interested in. Instagram, however is different. I follow people and things that interest me. I follow things that inspire me. I see beautiful interesting posts and people.

The people that I befriended in the past are not necessarily people I’d like to stay friends with. I signed up with Facebook as a college freshman. My views on life have changed drastically.

I feel that it’s kind of mean to just unfriend them so I unfollow many. They post about the most superficial and ignorant things. I’m at the point where I see posts but it’s from the same few people LOL!  When people try to bring logic and critical thinking into the posts that someone has posted. They bring more stupidity into the equation. We are now in our late 20s…..almost 30 and I figure this is a point we should be at. However, many are not.

Sadly many of my peers are stuck in a perpetual state of….shall I say BS. They want to flash and show off what they have and where they have been. How they are bad Bs, yet barely take care and nurture their children properly. The system is working and they can’ t even see it.

I don’t claim to be the most knowledgeable or deepest sista out here. However, I look unto the elder men and women to learn. To gain wisdom. This is something I feel is lacking with the “adults” of my generation. They are oblivious to what is really happening in the World around them and it’s scary. I dread for my unborn (child)ren to associate with their children. It shouldn’t be that way, but we can’t take everyone with us….especially if they don’t want to come. Stay where you are. Fine by me. I find much more pleasure on the WordPress streets than Facebook.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. kelley says:

    I hear you. FB is a lot of mental garbage. And I agree that it’s some folks’ playpen; there, they can create an image that looks great to people that don’t really matter and glorify situations that will be forgotten in five minutes.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Leslie says:

    You are not, by any means, alone on that one. I find far more inspirational stuff on instagram as well, and know people often make the choice to delete their fb accounts because of what friends are posting. BUT I do follow some pages I find very worthwhile stuff on. Good on you for recognizing those things though and not being another person contributing to it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

