Mediation Struggles

For the past several days I have attempted meditating as well as saying positive affirmations. I have tried mediating in the past, only to fall asleep. I’m like ok….maybe I shouldn’t lay down if I am mediating. So, the last several days I have been sitting up in a crossed leg position.

The whole entire time it seems like a constant battle to stay focused on my breathing or sound of music. I am constantly pulling my mind from random thoughts that do not mean a hill of beans at that particular moment. as I am concentrating on my breathing, I have thoughts about what I’ll cook for dinner, what happened with this or that….just non sense. It seems that I can only stay super focused on my breathing for a few seconds at a time. I’m assuming that the more I exercise my mind the longer I’ll be able to focus in longer.

Other than mediating and trying to get myself together I have been looking at carious programs to apply to. I’ve began the process of applying to a couple of undergraduate programs. We’ll see what happens with that. I just need to find another career path that I may be happier in.

18 Comments Add yours

  1. Tareau Barron says:

    I would consider myself a beginner/somewhat intermediate, meditater.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lady G says:

      Uhmmmmmm…….
      LOL!!!
      King Petty?
      Guess who is coming back 🙂

      Liked by 3 people

      1. Tareau Barron says:

        What you tryna say Lady G. Lady G, take to pretty ass and sit down somewhere hahahahahahahha. Yea I said pretty not petty

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Lady G says:

        You tried it with the flattery didn’t you!
        LOL!!!
        #LadygNEVAHforgets

        Liked by 2 people

      3. Tareau Barron says:

        Pettykang with his backhanded compliments
        #passiveaggresivemuch
        #pettykang

        Liked by 2 people

  2. Tareau Barron says:

    Whoops press send by accident. I was saying, that even I get distracted and what helps me is excessive or swearing before I meditate. It’s a struggle but just having those moments of peace can really help. Different positions, different settings.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Lady G says:

    Hey Sis,
    If you have trouble meditating, consider ‘contemplation.’ Go ahead and think about whatever comes to mind and notice what you’re thinking about.
    Journal on the thoughts that you seem to think about most-look for patterns.
    Work on the ones that trouble you.
    Think more about the ones that you enjoy.
    🙂

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Hmmmm…..🤔 that makes sense. Thanks for the tip Lady G. It may be easier for my anxious mind to just let the thoughts flow. I’ll definitely give this a try.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lady G says:

        Yep! Try that and keep us posted love😉

        Liked by 1 person

  4. ronbrownx says:

    Let your thoughts go wherever they want to go, they’re not the source of the state you seek. What lies beneath the thoughts is the goal.. When you can resonate on that level, you’ve opened the door to true conciousness.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Wow! 🤔😊 that makes sense. The concept of supposedly not thinking about anything probably made me focus on that more than just relaxing. Letting my thoughts flow freely just seems easier.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. K E Garland says:

    It does take a while. I would add that the idea is not to have any thoughts at all, but not to get caught up in the story of them. So, if you’re thinking about the grocery list, then see the list and let it go, don’t dwell on what should be on it, what time you’re going to the store, if you have time to go, do you have money in your account lol. Hope this helps.

    Liked by 3 people

  6. niicolee00 says:

    Hi there! I stumbled across this post and wanted to say that I’ve tried meditating like a hundred times and it’s just not the thing for me. It’s not relaxing for me to have to reign in my thoughts a million times, because I’m the type of person who likes to do things “right” and I just get more stressed when I can’t meditate “right.” Something I find more relaxing is a thing called ASMR, which is where people use their voices and sounds to calm others down. It’s mostly for helping people get to sleep, but a great side effect is that it calms thoughts down a lot, too. Google it or look around Youtube for it. Hope that helps, and good luck with a new career path!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading, glad you stumbled upon me. I can definitely relate to wanting to get things “right”, I get more anxious/irritated when I can’t. I am going to look that up now. I am still experiencing difficulties with mediating.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

