Experimental Side Dish……

I like to play around with cooking different foods and trying new entrees. It gives me a sort of satisfaction and excitement to take on a new task. When I’m approaching something new I can’t wait to see what the turn out will be. 

I bought a butternut squash last week and wanted to use it. I’m certain I’ve cooked butternut squash before, but I believe I put it in a soup. I recently tasted my grandmother’s butternut squash. She prepared them similar to sweet potatoes. I wanted to do something similar to this. 

Of course, I got on Pintrest and searched a few recipes. I found a dish that looked good and most of the ingredients were in my kitchen!! The recipe called for butternut squash, cranberries, & pecans. I used walnuts instead of pecans. I didn’t follow the recipe for real. I threw in my own mix of things. I made it similar to my grandmother’s dish, but with the added nuts and berries. 


Unfortunately it did not turn out the way I’d hoped. I should have added more sugar and more of a few other things. It did not taste like my Granny’s 😂 .  I will get it next time. I can be very health conscious at times. Therefore, I was reluctant to put too much sugar…..lol. It still tasted good though. I just have to perfect it 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Tareau Barron says:

    Hahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahaha looks um, looks like hmmmmmmmm (changes the subject) some weather we are having today

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Lol. You’ll get the hang of it next time. I feel like grandmas always be having the best meals. My grandma never wrote anything down and never used any measuring cups…just “eyeball it” lol. This is both beautiful and harmful at the same time lol.

    I have tried to get experimental in my drive to eat healthy – and it often turns out disastrous. I tried tofu as an attempt to get meat out of my diet …. it was AWFUL. I tried a fat free caesar salad dressing – it was AWFUL.

    Basically: sometimes you have to make a choice between health and taste lol. There needs to be a balance. What about that sweetener (the sugar that is not really sugar)?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lolol! So you understand my dilemma 💁🏾. My granny definitely eyeballs a lot!! I hope to be able to transition to no meat one day, but I eat pretty healthy for the most part. I’ve definitely tried some vegan things and fat free this or that….and I’ve hated some of them. Definitely have to make a choice sometimes lol.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

